My Phone, My Slave

Standard

As I am furiously typing this out, the biggest concern that’s plaguing my mind is the battery level of my laptop and my phone. I look at the battery level and estimate the time I can spend fiddling with it before the low battery warnings pop up. This is a problem faced not only by me but anyone who is an active part of the internet revolution and isn’t still chained to a desktop computer.

As the hours go by, I begin to ponder on the ways in which I’ve altered my lifestyle to suit my phone’s needs. Never have I had a phone which gave me excellent battery life and at the same time offered all the features I wanted. I constantly switched between Windows Phone and Android, hoping to find a sweet spot which would balance my needs. With a heavy sigh, I am plugging in my phone to charge, even though I used it only to listen to music through my Bluetooth headphones (That reminds me, gotta charge those too) and check out the happenings last night using 3G.

Not too long ago, barely 5 hours into classes, my phone started showing me low battery notifications. At that moment, I decided to skip a class just so that I could get back to the hostel to recharge it.

Sure, I may be slightly addicted to the internet, but my phone doesn’t seem to comply. My laptop battery was advertised to last 6 hours. Frankly, I’ve never used it for more than 2 hrs straight. I agree, much of the marketing and testing involves specific conditions and the mileage varies for each user, but why can’t we have a device with a spectacular battery life?

Right now, my biggest shout out to the tech giants is to come up with a phone that matches people’s lifestyles, and not cram loads of features into phones and say they’re ‘designed for humans’. I need a phone, which can get me through the day, without having to constantly worry about the depleting battery. We need devices that can last in the user’s hand – something that keeps on going, no matter what.

Innovation has a very broad definition. In most cases, it’s just incremental updates. It’s really sad that we’re in the age of the internet and mobile revolution and we still don’t have devices that optimize power efficiently. The ecosystem doesn’t matter at all. Whatever part of the ecosystem a company uses, they should optimize it properly. I don’t need a video to pause when I’m looking away from the device, nor do I need a personal assistant. But making the device screen monochrome and an ultra-low battery mode, sure. I’ll take that any day.

There are many apps that try to squeeze the last bit of juice from your phone. Most notable ones are the ones by Snapdragon and Greenify. They help a lot, but place barricades on the features. They promise to extend the device’s battery life, at the cost of usability.

Someone answer my question. Why can’t I have a device which is affordable, durable, gets me through the day and does not compromise on features?

What are the problems you face with your device, that affect your lifestyle? Are you a slave to your mobile phone? Let us know in the comments below.

//

Leave a Reply

